TONE!

This time for life drawing we were using tone. I had bought a set of Conté chalks  which were clean and fresh before this lesson and we used them to firstly draw a sphere with a point source of light on it. It was looking good before I lost control and starting smudging:

IMG_1503

After that our models sat for us (in a five minute pose) and we picked a part of them to frame and draw, then add tone:

IMG_1502

We also did the one minute poses at the start and I focused again on getting the lifeline and basic shapes in but I’m still too slow so as you can see I don’t get to finish my drawings!

IMG_1501

IMG_1499


 

After reading an article Alec showed me, I’ve found another way to add tone and shading; both methods are totally correct but I do prefer to do the shading using a light source that creates a darker and higher terminator (shading with midday sunshine in mind).

This is a practice drawing where I’ve applied this method and I think it looks much better than the way I would’ve originally done it.

FullSizeRender-18

Leave a Reply

