Modelling my Head – Week 7

This projects involves us modelling our own heads.

These are the embarrassing reference photos of myself:

Admittedly, I took the front one as a selfie! So it didn’t line up at all with the side view, probably why the first attempt didn’t work.

I started by modelling the eyeballs to ease myself into this project. I love modelling but I found this quite whole project quite daunting.

Here’s the tutorial I used to make the eyes:

These are my eye models!

Screen Shot 2016-03-17 at 21.44.30.png


This was the tutorial on blackboard that I used to model the head:

When making a face, you want edge loops to circle around the major features in order to maintain the volume under deformation. You also want to keep the spread of vertices more even so the deformation of the model is more consistent.

Using the create polygon method, make sure there’s the same number of vertices in the upper and lower region of the mouth. Whenever we model a point in Maya, we want it to be made of quads.

Screen Shot 2016-03-18 at 23.56.30.png
The Matrix me

By selecting a vertex, holding “c” and clicking the middle mouse button, you can drag the vertex along the corresponding edge.

I’m a little concerned about the number of poles I’m creating on my face. I’ve also learned the importance of having good reference images; the two images don’t line up fantastically so I’ll have to do a bit of rearranging later on.

This website came in handy when I was cleaning up my topology. I had a lot of non planar faces.


So I decided to scrap this model and restart because the topology was awful and it didn’t even look like me except from the side.


Poles are vertices that are attached to move than four edges. Poles don’t deform nicely but they are still better than triangles.

For texturing the head we can use any compatible file formats but it’s recommended using a tif.

NOTE: practice using the quad draw and crease tool. Shift-/+ will grow and shrink selection.

Leave a Reply

