Guns

References

Looked at gameplay shots, heavier weapons, steampunk guns. The wider the bottom of the gun or more solid the shape, the heavier it feels.

e32012_halo4_campaign7

bulletstorm_online_screen9_bmp_jpgcopy

bioshock-20060915070857050-000

M4w-att

 

Kit Bashing

Kit bashing is a technique involving the manipulation of photos to create silhouettes to play with and create concept models.
Using the handle for scale, I made silhouettes of parts of any guns that I found interesting:
silhoettes

 

Using these silhouettes, I jumbled them up and started randomly piecing them together. Some of my better outcomes:

gun prototypes

This technique is really fast and I find it great for anything involving technology or machinery as I wouldn’t have the knowledge of the form/shape to just paint weapons out of my head!

Extra Dimensions

I played around with adding planes and different shapes, on photoshop, to break up the shape of the gun:

Then once I was happy with my weapons, I added in a bit more detail to my concepts to give me a more solid form to model in Maya:

gunconcepts

 

Modelling

I liked the shape of the top concept which is why it’s much prettier so I brought it into Maya as an image plane and started to construct my gun, using the painting as a template.

Final model:Screen Shot 2016-01-18 at 23.39.50Screen Shot 2016-01-19 at 00.11.10Screen Shot 2016-01-19 at 00.14.09.png

Once the semi-automatic-plasma-pump-space-canon gun was modelled, I introduced a camera and another image plane so I could try positioning it within the player’s view. I had to consider the horizon line of the landscape because you want to see the gun but don’t want it obscuring to much of the screen.

Screen Shot 2016-01-19 at 02.23.31.png

After findin

Leave a Reply

