Research

Brief

This is our first major solo project and I’ve decided to go with compositing and VFX as it’s an area I’ve always been interested in but unfortunately don’t know much about.

For this project I’m going to add a 3D element to a live action background. I will also need to provide a breakdown render that demonstrates the composited layers and/or post effects. I’ll need to consider:

  1. Scene Continuity
  2. 2D & 3D Tracking
  3. Matching Colours
  4. Matching Lighting
  5. Contact Lighting
  6. Atmospherics
  7. Light-Wrap Techniques
  8. Edge Blend Techniques
  9. Working with Shadows
  10. Grain Management
  11. Lens Distortion & Aberrations
  12. Match Move
  13. Rotoscoping

I have just started with Adobe After Effects but since Nuke is preferred in the TV and film industry I’m going to attempt this project with it instead.


Research

Books I’ll need to scavenge:

Nuke basics tutorial videos:

Nuke 101: Professional Compositing and Visual Effects

I borrowed this book from the library to get a better insight into the software I’ll be using. It came with bonus content online so I downloaded it to work along with the book on the actual project files it uses to teach with. This is the final shortcut the files are from:

Merging

  • When merging images the foreground image needs to be premultiplied (multiply RGB and alpha channels)
  • You can’t colour correct premultiplied images (you must reverse the multiplication, correct it, the re-multiply it)
  • Shuffle node switches an RGB for an alpha channel, vice versa

Rendering

  • Create a Write node
  • Make sure you include frame padding  v01.###.tif for a sequence or .mov. for movie file
  • Turn compression to LZW (it’s lossless)

Animating

  • Bright blue indicates a key frame, light blue indicates animation.
  • Changing a value over a light blue option, automatically creates a key frame

Passes

  • Render 3D work out in passes then build the beauty pass up in Nuke – this allows compositor more control in changing the look
  • OpenEXR can hold LOTS of channel sets, more than tifs anyway
unnamed
Nuke 101

A diffuse pass includes the lighting and colour.

  • 3D software passes come in as premultiplied, so you need to un-premultiply each of them. So make sure they all have an alpha channel by shuffling the RGBA channel.

I’ll also need to get a better understanding of Arnold and After Effects.

I asked online for some help and was recommended these tutorials: https://www.thefoundry.co.uk/products/nuke/learn1/


I used Asana to plan out my project… unfortunately I’ve already lost about a month thanks to my indecisiveness on what to do, so I’ll have to stick to my plan to get it done in time.

Screen Shot 2016-11-06 at 16.05.49.png

Leave a Reply

