Modelling & Texturing

Thankfully I haven’t chosen anything too difficult to model…

Cards

So I already had a model of a deck of playing cards, however I decided to change it up a little. Typical tarot card size is 7cm x 12cm.

I used these photos as reference for the messy stack of cards:

screen-shot-2016-11-11-at-19-19-45screen-shot-2016-11-11-at-23-54-07screen-shot-2016-11-11-at-23-54-55

For their texture I used these images to photo bash the designs together (full credit to the artists) and painted my design from my concepts onto it:

My final texture:Screen Shot 2016-11-17 at 01.11.26.png

Ok so now I need to add a bump map – but every time I do this, Maya drops the mic and crashes -.-

So here are my cards, textured and ready to be added to my set up:Screen Shot 2016-11-24 at 13.22.00.png


Crystal Ball

Using the one from Fresh Garbage that I took a photo of, I modelled the ball and stand and took the stand into Mudbox to add a few details. I also wanted to incorporate a cloth draped over half of the ball however decided against this as you wouldn’t  be able to see the refraction.

Reference:

Model:

Screen Shot 2016-11-19 at 15.48.40.png

Texturing the ball is one of the most important parts of this project as it will easily give it away that it is a composited piece. Alec gave me a link to check the IOR of crystal when shading the ball (Crystal is 2.000).

SO HELPFUL – anisotropy, specular, roughness etc.

So I set up my scene with the ball Rosie kindly let me borrow to study it’s reflections etc.

For the crystal ball there is a SLIGHT fresnel, there is also a reflection from the candles on the ball (so I’ll need to take a photo of them from the side), the cards also have a very faint reflection. There are caustics from the ball onto the table and also onto the cards (whose glossy texture picks up).

I tried a slightly different set up on my fireplace and I think it looks way cooler. I’ve also added in another light source on the left so I’ll need to factor that in. There’s a lot of shadows in the scene so hopefully they’ll hide most of my models!

 

How to make caustics in Maya:

GI and Caustics:

How to put a dirty texture on glass (MentalRay)

Varnished wood effect – (Layered shader) How to create that varnished wood look by layering a fresnel and wood texture. Unfortunately Arnold doesn’t support Blinn or Wood textures so I had to create my own for the stand. Seamless Textures.

How to make a Fresnel:

I actually managed to create a fresnel and I am super proud of myself – look at this skill:

screen-shot-2016-11-19-at-16-22-18
Amazing

Although, I don’t think I will be using a fresnel for the stand but for the ball instead.

Work in progress:

Screen Shot 2016-11-22 at 20.35.55.png

So to get an object reflected into the crystal ball, you place it where you want the reflection to be seen and then un-tick the Primary Visibilty box for the mesh’s render stats, so that the object itself is not seen. However I might play around with putting something inside the ball – like a dynamic:

Screen Shot 2016-11-24 at 12.18.16.png


Gun

I used the model I had previously created for my last project. This is it textured: screen-shot-2016-11-20-at-20-39-00screen-shot-2016-11-20-at-20-43-00

The mesh of the chamber is a little skewed but I’m sure it will look ok when I hide it in the shadows!

Leave a Reply

